I Forge Iron

Question about a hood

yes it removes soot and ash ... i have been doing demos for over 30 years and at first i used a open shelter without hood . after a friend setup a forge with a hood and i saw how nice it was i decided to do the same . the tables were nicer and i was breathing less smoke ...

yes it removes soot and ash ... i have been doing demos for over 30 years and at first i used a open shelter without hood . after a friend setup a forge with a hood and i saw how nice it was i decided to do the same . the tables were nicer and i was breathing less smoke ...

Thank you, sir. I was curious as to whether it would be worth the extra time and work. I have a lot more questions about building my forge. Like, if I have a side blast, could I use clay to protect the tuyere?

• 2 weeks later...

I love the hood that I have on my forge. It is modular and I can take off what I need to fit in pretty much whatever I want/need. It is a life saver as it removes the nasty stuff that buring coal makes. It also, as mentioned allows for a more constant viewing of the color of the metal.