I Forge Iron

another anvil, what is it?

Well since I got my first anvil I seem to always be on the look out for them now. Much to the wifes dismay I saw this one and picked it up. I am not sure what it is though. Its got no markings what so ever. Its a little beat up but the top is flat (flatter then it looks in the pics) but the edges need dressing.

Its got the pritchel and hardy holes, plus its got a hole in the bottom, and two on front and aft that go about 2" or so deep. I have no idea but then my experience goes off the one anvil I have so not much.

Its about the same size as my 200lb sodofers. Thanks for any help guys.

post-26117-0-41289600-1343787833_thumb.j

post-26117-0-50113700-1343787840_thumb.j

post-26117-0-92113500-1343787846_thumb.j

post-26117-0-37311700-1343787858_thumb.j

Thanks Mac. Looking online it looks like Peter Wrights are wrought iron? I assume I should dress up the edges to keep them from chipping off. Are these still a good anvil if they dont have a steel face to them?

Curious as I wont have a chance to use it for a little bit, really liking my other one but its a steel anvil so different critter.

A century ago, all wrought iron anvils came from the factory with a tool steel face originally, as did all (real, quality) cast iron anvils. Cleaning it up with a wire wheel will generally show the line between the face and body.

Cracks, chips and missing sections from that tool steel face can be repaired with modern arc welding by a skilled and knowledgeable weldor. Or totally ruined by a well meaning attempt.

Only the no-name knock-offs were and still are solid cast iron, the infamous, totally unusable ASO. (Anvil Shaped Object) Well, that's not fair, they are fit for doorstops and lawn ornaments, if a bit ugly and lacking in refinement.

Modern solid cast steel anvils run the range from adequate to awesome, pretty much based on price and pattern.