I Forge Iron

Mississippi newbee

Turner

Hello everyone.

I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Mike Turner and live in Meridian, MS.
I am a total newbee to blacksmithing. I recently received an anvil and a portable forge and tools from my brother-in-law. They were his dad's and after his Dad passed away he wanted me to have them. I have been interested in blacksmithing for some time now but didn't have the money to invest in a good set-up. Well, now I have no excuse...... I have the tools. I plan to join the Mississippi Forge Council if they will have me and hope to learn from the experience of the members. I look forward to meeting some local blacksmiths soon. As I understand there are a couple of members close to me.
I have enjoyed browsing this site and have become inspired by the beautiful creations some of the forum members have posted.

Best regards to all,

Mike

I saw a cast iron forge crack with a LOUD POP on the very first fire. I do not know the reason but ask several others who offered the following advice.

Build any first fire in the forge as a small fire from wood and so it is NOT a hot fire. The second fire should be hotter but not at forging temps. The reason I am told, is being that the metal needs to dry out, relieve stress and accumulate. It was also suggested to put the forge in the oven at 250*F for several hours for the same reasons.

A couple of fires is a very small investment. Others may have different ideas so let the discussion begin. (grin)

Thanks for that comment Glen.

YES, let the discussions begin. I don't want to tear this forge up with my first fire!

When we dumped the coal out I noticed there is clay in the bottom of the forge. Will the clay hold moisture also? I just figured the clay acted as an insulator to keep the heat off the cast iron.

:unsure:

yes and yes.