I Forge Iron

Finding anvil on Oahu

hello everyone,
I am a beginner blade making and am using a small chunk of railroad track currently for my anvil. I have not been able to find an anvil anywhere on this island (Oahu, Hawaii). I have tried the local feed stores and even the local farriers, but no luck at all yet.

If anyone knows of someone here or a place here that might have an anvil for sale I would greatly appreciate any help. A small anvil would be nice. Unless someone has an old one they wish to give away that I could pay shipping to get here? Never hurts to check.

An anvil is anything you can pound on that doesn't break burn or melt!
Most of the world (and all of the world for most of history!) doesn't use London Pattern anvils so stop looking to pay a lot of cash for something you don't need.

A chunk of broken fork lift tine makes an anvil far superior to RR rail (as does the broken knuckle of a train car coupler) Living on an island I will guarantee that there are forklifts around to unload stuff brought by ship. When a tine is damaged they are not generally repaired due to liability concerns. You should be able to find one for scrap rate!

http://www.marco-borromei.com/fork.html

Also mentioned in a recent thread are the large dock cleats for tying up ships.

Think heavy chunk of steel---having a curved section is nice but not needed. (and I built a stake anvil to go with my 25# Early Medieval "cube" anvil that was made from an odd shaped sledge head to get a curve to work off of.)

Getting caught up waiting for/wanting a London Pattern anvil is sort of like saying you can't drive a car because can't find a Porsche.

Now it's way far away; but Bang Iron Valley on Pitcairn Island was named that as that is where the anvil from the Bounty was put after the mutineers landed there...

Also a great-uncle-in-law was telling me about forging parts for a sugar refinery using the refinery's shop and anvil.