I Forge Iron

Some knives I've done

Hi everyone, I am pretty new to this forum and thought I would share some knives I have done and a couple I'm working on. I've been forging knive for a little over a year now. I became interested when I was looking for a new chef knife and came across Japanese gyuto's. Long story short, I couldn't afford a new knife but did come across a website showing how to make a knife out of an old file. Soon after I found Ron Reil's sight and built a gas forge. Well soon I was out of files and was srarting to get something looking like knives. So here's where I'm at...

This Is the first knife I finished. probobaly about four months ago. It is forged 1084fg with titanium liners and G-10 scales.

post-21954-0-87712500-1310266152_thumb.j

This is the second knife I finshed, It is a 9" W2 honyaki wa-gyuto. It is currently in use as my daily use knife(I'm a chef).It is very sharp, very thin and very light.

post-21954-0-51104500-1310266322_thumb.j

The third knife I finished is a largish drop point hunter in W2 with a desert iron wood handle, cable guard and brass spacer.

post-21954-0-84758500-1310266475_thumb.j

Those are the knives I have finshed, but I have several I am working on. This is a W2 santuko that I should finish up in the next several days.

post-21954-0-49735700-1310266604_thumb.j
This is another large drop point that I will also finish up in the next few days, well maybe more like a week.

post-21954-0-84677200-1310266661_thumb.j

Here are several swords I have been working on, the first is a cable katana I did last summer. I am not entirely happy so I don't plan on polishing, it has been lots of fun using though. The next one down is a W2 katana I forged ealier this week. The one on the bottom is another cable katana I finished forging today. I don't have any way to temper these two at present so it will be a while before I heat treat and polish them. hopefully not too long.

post-21954-0-33994500-1310266800_thumb.j