I Forge Iron

Heat Treatment: To Quench or Not To Quench?

While I am relatively new to blacksmithing, I would like to think I have my feet under me as far as basic skills go. However, I don't know of any experienced smiths in my area, so I have to turn to books and this wonderful forum.

In The Blacksmith's Craft: A Primer of Tools & Methods by Charles McRaven, he states that after running the colors in a forge (heat treating) you should not quench your tool/project. Apparently, quenching the tool could harden the tool again.

My latest project was a punch drawn out from a piece of coil spring (5160-ish), so I know there's enough carbon to allow hardening. After completely hardening (heat to red, then quench) I stuck the blunt end in the forge, and slowly ran the colors until the business end was a light straw. Heeding Mr. McRaven's advise, I allowed the punch to air-cool, and by the time it had cooled, the tip was a honey-bronze.

My question is; can I somehow cool my workpiece more quickly without jeopardizing the heat treatment process?

Apparently, quenching the tool could harden the tool again.

There is no documented process for hardening steel that involves heating to 400-600 and quenching. So it won't make it harder. In fact, when using body heat to do the draw it is often recommended to quench in order to "arrest the draw".

In order for steel to harden as a result of quenching, it has to be quenched from the austenitic phase. Iron doesn't begin to become austenitic until around 1400 F (or a little hotter or cooler, depending on the alloy). So no, quenching from a typical tempering temperature won't "re-harden" your steel.