I Forge Iron

Little hammer for a friend

NRunals

I met someone a little while ago who was traveling from South Carolina, we got to talking and became friends. He is a chef by profession and a jeweler by hobby. A few months back I came to the realization that we never treat guests with as much hospitality as we would have in years past, and that I would make a forged gift for any friends I met that were just passing through (time permitted).

I made him this hammer for his jewelery. Now I don't know much about this sort of work, and I'm sure there are specific styles of hammers for specific jobs, but I figured a small hammer with a cross pien would have it's uses. The head is 1" square 4140 oil quenched and double tempered. The handle was a hickory log that I was going to burn for warmth, instead I turned it into a handle and got warm. I used a hatchet and spokeshave only to make the handle, and it's not the nicest looking thing but it's the first I've made from a log. Thanks for looking.

post-12166-0-41936800-1288962950_thumb.j

post-12166-0-26201100-1288962959_thumb.j

Nice hammer! I have done a lot of jewelry work... not real typical as I forged a lot. I usually used pretty small hammers. A tinners hammer similar to that one but with a longer smaller radius peen was a favorite. I like a peen of about 3/16" in width at the end and rounded nicely even on the corners. Just for future reference. I also liked some little cross peens that were formed from about 5/8" round stock and maybe around half the weight of that one you made. Those were days before I had the equipment or knowledge to make my own... but I still use those hammers.

Funny how chance meetings become something that have an impact on your life and become pivotal moments.
Things like your hammer become symbols of how even a few moments of pleasant conversation and shared time gain momentum and get people to think about how they live their lives and the impact they have on the people around them.