I Forge Iron

First blacksmiths conference

Michael

In Early October, I finally got around to attending my first gathering of blacksmiths, the Oktoberfest in Cazadero, a couple hours North of San Francisco. 200 smiths camping out on a big plot of land for the weekend, with the Education arm of the CBA supplying a half dozen forges, anvils, vises, 600 lbs of coal, materials, tools, a lit, covered work area and neighbors so far away the forges worked till midnight.
I learned more in three days there than the last 3 years of self taught bumbling out on my patio. Watched a smith make a dragonfly out of half inch square stock in a gob smacking reveleation of *Oh, THAT*S how you do it* and proceeded to make an ugly squarish version myself, on the left. Then burned the wing off my second one tried at home, looks like a mean kid caught it.

Third one is starting to look actually bug like!

I caught the last 20 minutes of a collaring demonstration when the smith (Mike Chisolm)giving the demo asked if anyone wanted to make the plant hanger he was showing. I raised my hand and was immediately swept up into a fast paced 5 hour project working three quarter inch stock with three other students as the instructor guided us through forging a tenon, using butcher chisels and set hammer, a fishtail scroll in half inch stock, my first forge weld and learning how to work with a striker swinging a ten lb sledge!

By the time the forges were shut down I had most of the work done, save the collaring to join the hook and the scroll, and the pivots the hanger swings on.