I Forge Iron

Fixing cuts in the side and flattening thin metal longitudinally.

Robert Simmons

I am a newbie to smithing and I have made a first, flawed attempt at some tongs. Some of the mistakes I made I understand but I also had a couple questions.

In the attached image I have two issues that i couldnt figure out how to solve immediately. First of all, on the place indicated by A, there is a dent in the side of the metal. What would be the best way to remove that divot to get the side flat.

While we are talking about flattening, on the side marked by B, the side is rounded but I would rather have it be straight. Is there a way to straighten that side without curling the metal from A to B?

Thanks in advance.

post-14357-061176100 1281505572_thumb.jp

Hi Robert, Thats a difficult question to answer based on what is there, and not knowing how you got there.

There is some work to do on them yet, and some of these problems may be alleviated as you develop them further.

You have to put a dogleg in them to get them into a working situation, as you do this the outer edges will alter as you work on them, it may also tend to distort the rivet hole you have in there.

You can remove dings and alter shapes on the face /edge of the anvil or over the horn.

How did you get to this stage? It looks like you started with square bar, flattened the end and then twisted a section for the jaw.

Did you plan it this way, and what did you use as guidelines to make tongs? as this seems a bit of an unusual way to go. I am not saying it won't work, but not a way I would go.

There is plenty of advice and opinions on tong making on this forum, but choosing one is not easy, especially for a newcomer.

Sorry if this is not much help, if we had more information on how you had got to this point may help.