I Forge Iron

A good day

The studio in the pics belongs to my friend James Lee Hansen an 84 y/o sculptor I've been working with for the last 12 years.
Jim's an amazing fella, he does large scale abstracts and even at his age you just can't keep him out of the studio. We've got a pretty good cadre of friends across the spectrum of experience (ace welders, fabricators, riggers etc) and so with our help he continues to produce more work. I'm his "right-hand man" and handle most of the production aspects for the bronze work as well as all of the database work and photography for his catalog raisonne'.

Fe,
The trolly kiln has sure seen it's share of use - out of the pictures to the left is another one that's almost twice the size of the one pictured. We'll be pouring bronze for 4 new pieces.

Michael,
You're spot on - The two SS pieces in the pics are the first one's that Jim has done in about 8 years and he's very excited with how they're coming along. Most of his work is cast from bronze as components then assembled into the finished piece. He has a website in progress here's the address:

www.jamesleehansen.com/index.php

The portfolio section features mostly smaller work as we're still in the process of getting updated photography for his larger work at the studio and in situ.
If you do a google search on his name, you'll find all sorts of pics and info about his work. He's been doing this for over 60 years and he's got an amazing history!

Senft,
What we're doing in the pics is straight-up poured investment were the wax is suspended in the mold form and material is poured surrounding the wax. It's a simple mix of silica sand, perlite and pottery plaster. Shell casting is more oriented towards faster volume production and uses a harder curing material where the wax is dipped repeatedly into the investment building up successive layers.

I'll post some more pics as we move along!