I Forge Iron

New electric blowers

I hadn't mentioned this before but I also have a source of very robust squirrel cage electrically powered blowers. I can't tell you much about them. They come in sizes from about as small as an alarm clock to so big you would carry only one! They are 1 phase 220 volt. I don't know what you would call the motor but it is the sort you can slow down by using a dimmer switch. I have been using one now for 3 years without any problems at all. They are substantially made but they look a bit rough.

Glenn, I am NOT advertising, just saying that if there is enough interest I can get a case of them sent to USA. They would be very reasonably priced!

What is it that makes hand-cranked blowers economically infeasible, anyway? (I can't help believing they are. There's certainly a market for them, so price is the best explanation I can think of for why no one is supplying that market in this country.) Most of the parts could be die cast from aluminum, maybe even a ZA alloy. The gears would be the most expensive part. Is that the problem? Are decent gears prohibitively expensive?

Quenchcrack- see separate thread on hand cranked blowers. That is what caused me to post this item.
Matt 87 if you want to buy a hand cranked blower in Europe there is always Vaughans (Hope Works) Check out their on line catalogue. The prices are scary but they will discount them fairly heavily.
I just thought a quantity of blowers (electric or hand cranked) sent to USA as a shipment and then retailed by a dealer there are going to be a good deal cheaper to the end user than individual ones imported by individual purchasers.

I thought about producing some hand crank blowers but when I priced gears that killed the idea. Not to mention there are a minimum of 4 different castings 2 of which have offset partings. To get decent prices on the castings the patterns would have to be matchplates or cope and drag. That is $8000 - $10 000 in tooling.