I Forge Iron

Allow me to introduce myself

NN4N

Ive already spent quite some time reading the vast amounts of information on IFI, so I figured it would be a good time to introduce myself. On the internet I go by the nickname NN4N, my real name is Allard and you can call me by either. In my 'normal' life I'm a student at Erasmus University Rotterdam (The Netherlands) at which I study Economics & Informatics.

I got interested in blacksmithing a while ago, so I built a most basic forge, because I didnt want to waste time building a forge and finding out I didnt like blacksmithing much after all. I don't have a picture of it (I found out you guys really like those), but I do have a picture of my first project.

My first project was a hot set of which the design was taken from "Basic Blacksmithing with locally available materials". A picture can be found under attachments.

So I was hooked :) and i built a new forge. Spent a few days gathering up as much information as I could and started working. You can see my welded firepot (made from 10mm plate steel, which is slightly larger than 3/8"), my table in progress and my finished table with forge and blower in the pics.

My brother worked in a metro tunnel for a few weeks and he set me up with a piece of 38cm ~ 15" railroad which weighs around 18 kilo's. That's the anvil done.

I quickly found out this forge was much better and a lot hotter than my previous forge. Finding out as in burning a few pieces of metal :P. So I made myself a fire poker and rake from the bars they use to reinforce concrete.

I lacked a pair of tongs, so I made 'em from an old handsaw for iron, which have a wide U looking piece of iron in which the sawblade is mounted (http://www.2college.nl/tech/toets1p1/ijzerzaag.JPG). They came out pretty ugly and are quite small, but work very well. Also pics below.