I Forge Iron

A question on the number of heats before light steel eventually becomes burnt and uinuseable.
Lets say I have a 14 inch piece if 5/8 round light steel that I want to make into a kitchen implement. Being a beginner I would need to take more heats on the steel than when I acquire more skill and knowledge. So my question is how many heats would be OK before the steel becomes burnt and useless - assuming a bright cherry heat each time and no forge welding??
Is this an exact science or more experience and observation?

Brian

blkbear, welcome to the site. It's not the number of heats, it's the length and intensity of the heat. Get the steel nice and bright red-to-dull orange, and hammer away. Just don't let the piece set in the forge long enough to start to throw sparks, that's when the steel is junk. You can heat it as many times as you want.

You should take the heat up to a bright yellow, not just orange or red. And don't beat on it below an orange. There is much more danger of ruining your work from hitting it at too low a heat than from heating it too often. RED is not hot for mild steel forging.

What kitchen implement are you making? From your concern, It sounds like spatula or ladle work. In that case be VERY attentive to keep your heat between yellow and orange. It is so tempting to keep beating on it because it cools so fast when you have it thin. But put it back in and pull it out before it burns. Know what you are going to do before you even reach for it. Be thinking and feeling the specific hammer blows as it comes out and be swinging as it touches the anvil.

I know, I know. You only asked whether you can heat too often. The answer is yes... but it's not usually an issue. You will normally ruin something with some other form of neglect or abuse LONG before you scale it to death.