I Forge Iron

Advice for a newbie?

I'm extremely new to smithing, I'm probably the greenest person on this site right now, and I'm hoping some of you could give me a little advice on how to get into the hobby, before I get myself carried away. I'm looking to get into it as a hobby, more to appreciate the art of it than to make any money from it. The idea has always been awesome to me, using fire and a few tools to bend metal to your will and make it into something, I bet everyone at some point in their lives wishes they could.

I really just need some help getting set up, and finding a starting point. When I try looking for an anvil, I see people talking about the different weights, if it has enough rebound, and other stuff like that, which doesn't mean much to me. Same with making a forge, what fuel to use, and what kinds of tools to start with. I don't wanna get too carried away with visions of a grand brick forge and the classic horned anvil, before I really know what I'm doing.

Generally any advice on how to get started as a hobbyist would be greatly appreciated. I guess I'm mostly looking for, where to get an anvil or what to use as one, how to make a forge(or find one) and what fuel to use, metals to start with, and beginner projects to start at.

Start by packing a lunch and a cold drink and read the site cover to cover. Begin with the stickies on each section, then the sections of interest to you. You will find your questions have been ask before and answered in great detail. GO BUY a block of modeling clay. You can play and practice with clay and find out how the clay and later metal moves. DO NOT be afraid of making mistakes. You learn what does and does not work by trying.

Find a blacksmithing group near you and go to the meetings. They have the knowledge and tools you seek. You can learn more in one day that you can ever imagine.