I Forge Iron

Just wanted to say hello

Jason L

I'm new to the world of blacksmithing but I have made a few knives (stock removal only) so metal is not entirely foreign to me. I have built a homemade forge from a brake rotor and a pipe stand from an old diner table with a hand pump that works but it is brutal.

I've read a little here and there and been fascinated with the level of craftsmanship I see here and on other forums. I'm hoping that one day I'll be able to produce items as superb as the ones I've seen so far.

I know that my setup is not ideal, probably even for a beginner and I'd like to work on something better, but right now I'm learning and I just want to take my time and figure out the process before I upgrade to actual equipment designed for the purpose.

I have many questions that I am scouring forms to answer and so far, most of my questions have been answered many times. I would like to know if there is a reference to the various types of steel available (as in, what do the identifying numbers mean?) and if there are any tips or advice that I could gather from those far more experienced than me.

Right now, money is tight, so my entire setup was free and so is all he practice metal. Mostly RR spikes till I get a feel for it. I'd like to know what I'm doing before I mess up good metal.

I'm also very curious about gas forges, though at the moment I don't have the means to acquire one. I'd like to set one up in the future. For now, coal dug from my backyard will have to suffice.

Thanks in advance for any advice/tips, and I love the work I've seen so far. Really beautiful. You folks are truly artists of the highest calibre.

but right now I'm learning and I just want to take my time and figure out the process before I upgrade to actual equipment designed for the purpose.