I Forge Iron

Hello All, a few questions...

DC712001

Hello. My name is Derek and I live in Southern California, USA. I am considering getting into Blacksmithing.

My current hobbies are Flying (I'm a pilot) gardening, computers, automotive (classic-cars, Jeep,) old-engines (I have a 1924 Fairbanks-Morse stationary flywheel engine,) etc.

I live on an acre of land, have a small garage-shop with tools, two-stage air-compressor, MIG and gas welding equipment, a small 6" x 18" lathe, 20-ton arbor press, abrasive-blast equipment, etc.

I can weld and use machine-tools, but not at a professional level of skill or expertise.

For 10-years, I worked at an Aerospace Forge Shop that manufactured seamless rolled rings, up to 15-ft in diameter, from Titanium, aircraft-aluminum, nickel, cobalt, chromium, stainless, niobium, tool-steel. We had several large hydraulic presses, the largest being a 4,000-ton unit and several steam/pneumatic hammers, the largest being a 1917, 10,000 Lb Chambersburg Hammer out of a Pensylvania Rail Yard.

I observed, but didn't work at actual forging. Instead, I served in support roles such as plant-maintenance, saw-department, inspection/QC and finally, Heat-Treating, as a supervisor.

Bachelors degree business administration, then worked 4-years in commercial-sales for a west-coast steel-mill that hot-rolled steel-slabs (rolling-mill) into 22-ton coils of Hot-Rolled, Cold-Rolled and coated (hot-dip galvanized) sheet and plate steel.

Earned my pilots certificate several years ago and a couple of aviation-related college degrees (Commercial Flight and Aviation Science) and working toward an aviation career.

Questions: I'm looking for an affordable anvil and toward building a foundry-furnace and forge. I have some fire-brick and Kaowool left over from my heat-treat days, and my welding/fabrication skills, so that should help a bit.