I Forge Iron

Jeff's blacksmithing progress (photo heavy)

JCloss

I hope it's ok to create another one of these types of posts.  I'd like to share things I have made and continue to make, but don't want to make a new forum thread every time I have a success or failure to share.  

I'll start with something recent - this is what is probably the nicest plain hook I've ever made.  It started out as just something to do from the scrap bucket but the spade turned out so nicely I decided to try something new and punch holes in it.  It seems weird that I've been blacksmithing for 4 years or so and this is the first time I've ever hot-punched holes.  I'm quite proud of how it turned out - I feel like it shows my development because there's no way I could have done something like this when I started.

The following is in my introduction post as well, but it might relate here so I'm re-typing it.

About 4-5 years ago I got quite into watching different blacksmiths on youtube.  Eventually I figured I could do this too so I took my propane swirl construction heater, a ball-pein hammer and a chunk of mild steel and tried to make my first taper.  It was a resounding failure.  My enthusiasm soon turned my friends onto the idea and as one friend had a mostly unused shop and an oxy-acetylene rig we decided to try things.  We found a scrap of steel to use as an anvil, a couple of firebricks and made a corner to shoot the flame from the torch into.  We were able to make some janky looking leaves and from there we expanded our new hobby.