I Forge Iron

Natural gas burner questions

stopwatch

Hello everyone. I am new to the hobby and looking to set up my first forge. I have natural gas plumbed to my house and I am hoping to use that rather than LP.

That being said, through reading the forums, I know that my house likely runs at very low pressure (0.5 psi or less) and I will have to at the very least have the following things:

-A blower since the low pressure cannot create the flow required for naturally aspirated

-A longer run of piping after the nozzle as NG mixes slower than LP

-I should at the very least have an auto solenoid to shut off gas on loss of power (beyond the manual shut off and regulator)

I read through the design considerations on Wayne coes website and his ribbon burner simply talks about a mixing chamber where fuel is injected. Can I still just use a mig tip nozzle in a design similar to the Wayne Coe example? Can you run  at such low psi? I will have to call to find out exactly pressures. I have seen posts mentioning success with an NG set up, but never in the detail of Mikey or Frosty. I had no luck with the search feature. I have found that NG is clearly not the favorite gas so there are fewer specifics available.

I apologize for the wordy post. Thanks for any help.