I Forge Iron

Avoiding leaf stems breaking

Hi folks, for a while I struggled with necking down leaf stems without them breaking, I assume I'm not the only who has run into this problem but thankfully now I've developed a leaf forging process that eliminates the issue. (Due to health problems I haven't been able to get an apprenticeship or study blacksmithing so I'm self taught, as far as I know this tip might be taught as part of leaf making 101 and could be painfully obvious to some, but it's new to me). I've had more than my fair share of help from this forum so when I find something that might be useful to someone else I think I should pitch in...

I'm working on a commission at the minute that requires lots of leaves so I took the opportunity to photograph what I mean. I like to do my leaves with a raised central vein, the hammering angles required to push/pull the vein into position can cause the stem to twist. My solution to help know when the stem is untwisted is to not planish out the corners when rounding up the stem. If you leave the corners alone and leave the planishing till after you've forged the leaf, you can easily see where the stem's twisting. In the pics below the stem hadn't twisted much before I rescued it, but it could have gone much further and become a problem, if I let it.

Another major factor in my process of avoiding the stem becoming brittle is to neck down on the bick, not off the far edge of the anvil. I find that unless your anvil's far edge is very rounded necking down that way is too much stress on one specific point in one go, whereas the bick is a gentler curve and shares the stress better.

This leaf is made from 16mm round bar.

Stem necked down on the bick, corners left unplanished.

20150929_135501.thumb.jpg.3e43d046dfb9a0

Neck starting to twist behind the leaf, as can be seen on the corners.

20150929_140001.thumb.jpg.76e6369f0335de

Stem twisted back straight:

20150929_140238.thumb.jpg.ae9aee2e796bc7