I Forge Iron

collaring.

hello all. my name is Jonah i'm an apprentice to master Whitebear A.K.A. Son Daughtry i'm using his internet name becasue i live with him and don't have my own computer.
my question is. about collaring. i need to make a candelabra for my October project (with no help from Mr. Daughtry) it needs to have at least 3 candle cup holder places. and i can only use tools and equipment from the 1800's so again. my question is. can a collar give a tight enough connection to hold up the candelabra arms. like this one. iForge porject number 105
thanks you
Jonah
and greetings from Mr. Daughtry. (whitebear)

thank you very much. i will look into that book maybe Mr. Daughtry has it laying around somewhere. does anyone have any other ideas for a candelabra type hting other than the one that i poster earlier. just a little intro on myself. i'm a 16 year old boy with a background and heritage in tinsmiths and coppersmiths. but my paretns "sold me" to Son Daughtry to be a blacksmtih apprentice and have been such for almost 5 years now. i live with him and his wife in a small country house in texas. i have experience doing just about ever blacksmtihngi technique there is. i can forge weld i'm jsut not very good at it.

thanks again
Jonah

Hi!

It's great to see people are still using apprenticeships for such wonderful things as blacksmithing! It's inspiring! Someday, I hope to be able to have that kind of training, if even just for one year.

Did you notice this link while browsing the site you gave us? It has some information about collaring, even though half of it is about welding (which doesn't interest you, I think).

And also, funny thing you mention candelabra. Just last weekend I was visiting the Museu do Carmo here in Lisbon, and one of the few sections that didn't collapse with the Great Earthquake of 1755 had a huge candelabra, hanging from the ceiling. I gaped at it until one of my friends clouted me and told me to move on ;)