I Forge Iron

Stake holder

Hello all.  I am new here though I have been forging iron since about 1992... sometimes professionally and sometimes just for fun, these days mostly the latter.  I have never had any decent stakes, just a couple of bick type stakes I made myself, rather poorly done and of limited utility.  A few  years back I came across a large mushroom head stake at an estate sale, literally across the street.  I have used it from time to time held in my leg vise, but it mounts too high to be of much use that way so mostly it has been collecting rust for ten years or so.  Quite recently however, I came across someone locally who was selling a very nice bick type stake, similar to a Roper Whitney, Pexto #927, except with a longer bick, and selling it for a very low price so I bought it.   I don't own a stake plate or a swage block, both items being more money than I want to spend so I set my mind to figuring out a cheap way to mount these stakes in a way that they were actually usable.  Below are pics of what i did and it seems to work very well, for my purposes anyway.

IMG_20130523_210410.jpg

IMG_20130523_210503.jpg

I happened to have a few pieces of 8" x 8" 1/4" wall square steel tubing lying around, left over from my last failed attempt to fit into the corporate world 14 years ago.  Yes, I have been hanging on to them all that time.  One piece became a new anvil base for my smaller, 110 lb. anvil.  Anyway, a little testing revealed that it's 31" length would be just about perfect for what I wanted to do with it.