I Forge Iron

Railroad Spike Cross (New Project)

I started making this for my Girlfriend earlier today. She's very much into church and God.
While I've never been exactly the church going type because of personal reasons, but I do believe. On top of that.. I love her. Anyhow.. I noticed last week that she didn't have a crucifix or cross hanging anywhere in her bedroom. I didn't say anything, but I figured I would fabricate one and surprise her. Below you will see the design I came up with, along with most of the rough fab work done. ( I didn't have much time to work on it earlier, and I still need to finish filling some voids and the grinding). My buddy suggested to me that should engrave it with a religious quote or scripture, but I might distress it instead. Depending on how much it would cost, I might have it plated in chrome, but I would prefer it in silver as it is considered to be a holy metal. This is my first attempt at making a cross. When I'm finished, I hope she likes it. I'll post updates with pics as I progress. Stay Tuned..
( I uploaded the pic from my mobile, Tap or click-on the pic to view it larger)

post-33737-0-67255500-1361955044_thumb.j

Looks alright. Think i remember seeing one a while back where they used a spike, slitted it in the middle along the main section then pulling these two sections create the cross section. Looked really nice all coming from the same piece.

Coating your current piece is will make it look a bit more bedroomy. I see you have not integrated any way of hanging it to the wall, so you will need to find some hooks that work with it as well.