I Forge Iron

Buffalo Forge Blower Repair?

John-S

Good morning,

I'm brand new here and jumping in with both feet but hoping not to annoy anyone. I have done some searches on old posts but get the impression that I don't know enough to know what to search for.

I have a Buffalo rivet forge with a hand cranked blower. The blower doesn't have any number or model info on it, but it does say Buffalo Forge, and USA, and "Bufco" on the blower cover. This blower has an outlet of about 1.25 inches and the fan housing is about 7" in diameter.

I've been using this thing off and on for about 15 years and it has worked very well. About a year ago it started making a "ting" sound every once in a while. Apparently a fan blade hitting a rivet. About 6 months ago, one direction of turn (there's no indication which way if either is "correct") began making that sound continually and I stopped turning it that direction. Last week the other direction started being hard to turn and making a rattling sound.

I took it apart and discovered that the shafts were moving a long way. In one direction they would pull the fan blade up against the rivets, in the other it appears the gear teeth were touching the sheet metal housing, though that is harder to be sure of. There are little washers which appeared to center the shafts and some of these were visibly worn almost hollow. In a couple of places it appeared that a washer was entirely missing.

I don't know what those washers are made of. They're not metal and I doubt they're plastic. I replaced several of them with similar rubber washers which fit pretty well but I was unsure of the original thickness. Now the noises are gone. BUT, the thing is much harder to turn than I think it should be.