I Forge Iron

Gas forge

Bram

Helo,
I am new in the blacksmithing business and just now building my gas forge and need some advice:
I use a standard home gas tank & regulator and fan for forced air but do not get enough heat.
The 1/2" bar I am trying to work with stays black.
Some facts:
- Color of flame is blue.
- The forge chamber is not isolated (working on it...)
- Gas orifice is 1/16"
- I tried all variations of air and gas flow with no success.
Can anybody help?

0-30 PSI is prefered...
Most gas forges run on 7-15 PSI, so really efficient ones can run on a LOT less, and some big ones with bigger tanks can run on 20-30 (Think cuopola with a couple of 1.25" T Rex burners:-)
I believe that Red Hat is the brand name, that is most common, they are normally painted, you guessed it Red:-)
Around here, west central Indiana TSC farm stores carry them as well as 100# propane cyclinders, and high temp stove cement.