I Forge Iron

First anvil and some questions

I'm new to blacksmithing but decided I wanted to jump right in. I've tried it a few times at a boyscout camp when I was younger and always wanted to do more of it. I ended up buying an anvil off of craigslist for 75$. It is 100#, but I don't know who makes it. One side has the 100, the other side has 45Kg with England written underneath it. I also don't know what the little marks on the top are. Maybe where someone set a welder down on it? Any help would be appreciated.

post-21339-0-66818600-1306465010_thumb.j

post-21339-0-68474100-1306465162_thumb.j

post-21339-0-73234100-1306465232_thumb.j

post-21339-0-62383500-1306465326_thumb.j

If I were to guess I would say it is a Brooks (name later changed to Vaughans). They are high quality cast steel anvils.

I have a 280 pound Brooks and it has very similar lines to yours.

Congrats! That's a pretty sweet first anvil.

Edit: I just checked Vaughans site and to buy a 100 pound anvil new from them is around $650 plus shipping from England.

http://anvils.co.uk/products/view/56?cat=12

It is a cast steel Vaughan/Brooks, and should be a fine user. You got a deal! New, they go for 400 British pounds, about US $650 today.

http://anvils.co.uk/catalogue/

Edited: fat fingers type too slow, looking up currency exchange. <_<

Anyway, what he said!

I would bet that some one set a plate on the anvil and welded on top of it, and that the marks are from the arc jumping from the anvil to the plate they work working on.