I Forge Iron

Buffer motors with planetary gears

I've been collecting parts for my first power hammer build for a couple years now, and what may be the best motor I have come across is a floor buffer motor... Here's the skinny:

I have 3 buffer motors- each is 1.5HP 1750 rpm 110V (~12 Amps) and each is mounted directly to a planetary gear (buffer mount spins the opposite direction of the motor spindle) that reduces it down to 170 rpm. The diameter of the buffer mount/planetary gear is about 8" and the majority of which is fairly smooth around the circumference and might work well as a tire hammer if I could find a 6"-9" diameter tire so it doesn't get much slower. The mount is cast iron and I guess I could weld a pulley onto it and use a tension driven system.

What would you do if this was the motor you had to use for a hammer build? I have materials for the tire hammer or rusty style... The material I have for the ram is a 3.5"x2"x42" medium-carbon chunk weighing in around 45# - (two of these chunks followed me home last summer......)

Pics would really help a great deal to visualize what you are about.
A planetary gear set can be used as a transmission or sorts depending on what part is held stationary or allowed to move so mounting involves choices as do the size of the drive wheel and the proposed actuator linkage.
Either pics and/or sketches of what you are needing or planning would help us focus.

Look at some of Sam`s drawings of drop hammers and other proposed hammers to see what I mean.Because of those drawings others were able to post pics and videos that provided useful info in a very short time and sorted things out rather quickly for him.
Besides that,we just LOVE pics! :)

Pics would really help a great deal to visualize what you are about.

Either pics and/or sketches of what you are needing or planning would help us focus.

Besides that,we just LOVE pics! :)