I Forge Iron

Starting smithing in South Dakota

Greetings. My name is Marcus Hopfinger. I currently live in White, South Dakota but have lived in all parts of the state at various times during my life.
Back in college I took a couple metal working classes, one using a lathe for a semester and the other mainly working with sheet metal. Also during college I worked as a band instrument repair technician fixing trombones--I don’t play the trombone however. A brass band instrument repair technician is kind of like a specialized brass smith. I used a torch to de-solder the horn, stripped off the old lacquer then used various devices to remove the dents. One of the machines we used to overhaul the bell of the horns is very much like an English Wheel but with different dies.