I Forge Iron

Proper Apprentice Portfolio

Hello friends,

I am a 23 year old apprentice metal smith and shop technician from the San Francisco Bay Area. I recently moved here from Michigan and I am working for a couple different shops here in Oakland. Since I have moved here I have been trying to find work and my efforts toward presenting a portfolio or job description have been effective, yet I would like to refine them more. I would be very appreciative if anyone could provide any advice towards what shop owners look for in a well rounded portfolio.

thanks!

fp

pictures of past projects youve worked on are handy. Also, show that your keen to learn and will show up every day! say what your really good at and say what you'd like to perfect. And being an apprentice, know how to take a great deal of cr*p lol. Apprentices that take things to heart and sook, tend to get picked on more. being that your 23 i'd say you know that already. i find it easier to get a job if im talking one on one with the supervisor/boss rather than being a random resume in a pile or inbox.. Get them talking about the place rather than you talking about yourself.. people would rather talk about themselves than listen.
Good luck!

I believe that you have been given some very good advice already.

Employers are employers regardless of what industry. And some basic requirements will most always prevail.

I just want to highlight one aspect of what has been previously said!
And that is that I feel you should somehow inject information that will reflect your willingness to be a dependable employee.
Over the last 50 years I have had the experience of being on a hiring board for a large corporation and also hiring people for my own business.
I have also been required to participate in termination processes.
At times it was very stressful for my self and all others who had to take part in the termination process.