I Forge Iron

First timer!

Scot

Hi to all,
Just joined today so I thought I better say hello! I have been in the welding and fabrication field for some time but most of my work was heavy plant fabrication and repair in the open cast mining and quarrying industry in Scotland. Now I have moved to SW France for better weather!!as welding 56 hours a week outdoors in all weathers was getting a bit tiresome. I have some limited forging skills and have over the past few years tried to equip myself with some reasonable kit inc Gas Forge, plasma cutter, mechanical power hammer (VERNET) and my latest aquisition is a section rolling machine which I have zero experience with. I am looking for tips etc on avoiding any blunders etc when using this machine and also how best to go about fabricating the old style hanging method where the gate swivels on a pin below and is held near the top using a forged eye enveloping a circular section which is machined/ground into the solid square upright of a gate. (If you follow what I mean!!!!) Anyway hello to all and thanks for any suggestions help you can give me !

Welcome to the forum Scot,
No experience with roller myself either but I'm sure there will be someone here that can help. It would be even better if you could post a pic. As for the gate hinges, I think I understand what you mean. Like a garden type or corral gate?? Not a hinge man either but this is the best place I know to ask questions. May take a day or three but you'll usually get an answer or three :)

Scot,