I Forge Iron

refractory cement

I have a new forge made from a large freon bottle lined with ceramic wool and coated with rutland refractory cement. It had some cracked cement inside so, I proceeded to add some more refractory. I did let it dry but, due to humidity in the south of Mission, Texas, I didn't let it dry enough time. Used a propane torch to slowly heat up and it started bubbling (cement coating) so, I stopped. It sure looks ugly inside ? is, do I scrape off the new coating or just use it as is?. I have read from others that satanite can be a better substitute than what I used. I'm new at this at adding coating and all. Also, I can use ITC-100 to coat over satanite or refractory cement. Can anybody help me into what to use to re coat my forge, and where to get it for a good price?. Rey:confused:

I have had this happen before too. Even after letting it sit for a few weeks it would still bubble up. This usually happens when I used stove cement that I watered down so I could apply it.

Satanite doesn't do this.

I found that it will bubble up and look really ugly, but after running the forge for a while the bubbles will go back down. In fact, after everything was up to temperature, I could use a piece of steel and push the bubbles down flat. They usually don't come back after that.

Good luck.

Thanks for the info, Wapiti--I've used the furnace cement in several projects and have had the same problem with the bubbling. I added water to the mix to get it from a thick, stiff clay into something more workable and also let it dry for weeks. I'll try what you suggest by heating and "re-forming" the bubbles.

-Chris

Edited by chrisfrick
grammatical errors

You can buy a few pounds of satanite powder for the same price as a few tubs of furnace cement. You also might consider ITC-100. Both are easier to mix and apply. They also last longer in the forge. Furnace cement will get brittle if you forge often and will start to fall apart.