I Forge Iron

New to Blacksmithing

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Blacksmithing Trade and I hope to get a fresh start. I will be at the Madison Conference this year to pick up some tools and training. I am a Navy Veteran, 32 years old, and have started learning about the ins and outs through books. There is really no one here in this area where I can apprentice but my wife and I are moving to North Carolina in July.

I have degrees and years of study in Electronics but have since been burnt out on the field(seems to be getting flooded and boring). I used to work for a DoD contractor but have since left that job to prepare for our move(The wife makes enough money as a RN).

I hope to be able to learn from some of the more knowledgable people here and be able to share with many my knowledge of what I know to anyone who may need help.

Bruce

Bruce:

Are you the same Bruce that posted a few times on the ABANA site?

You might want to check here:

http://magichammer.freeservers.com/abana_image_map.htm

and see if there is any group near enough to you to contact. There are many blacksmiths in both FL and NC, so you should be able to to contact a group near you.

I can attest that there is life after the Navy, digital technology, DOD, and education. You have already secured the most important element -- a working spouse. :P

Bruce:

Are you the same Bruce that posted a few times on the ABANA site?

Yep same guy, I did a google search for Blacksmithing forum and found this site :)

heheh The working spouse was a hard find :P though she loves her job and taking car e of people.

Bruce:

Make sure and sign up for one or two "green coal classes" at Madison. I think I'm helping out at one on Friday.

Contact me off list (mobjak@yahoo.com) if you wish. I'm near Charleston SC.