I Forge Iron

Need better burners for my forge

1justin

Hi, I'm a machinist and a damascus knife maker, too. I was using the coke forges at my school to make my forge welds, but have since graduated, so no more access to them. Two years ago, I bought a new two burner forge from ebay, before I got into machining and realized I could have made it better and way cheaper. The guy I bought it from boasted how "easy" it was to forge weld with, however it has NC burners that really don't get it hot enough to do any kind of a decent weld at all, even at 20 psi.

Does someone here use T-Rex burners? Can you tell me more about how they work? What pieces are involved, that sort of thing? Like I said before, I'm a machinist and am interested in designing something similar to use in my own forge. Because, the NC burners just don't cut it with making damascus, I get little spots in the middle of my billet where the weld didn't quite take. These spots later expand during the heat treat. Any help would be much appreciated, because I don't have the money to buy one of these burners myself. Does anybody know if hybridburners sells these to vendors? Or are they the only place you can buy one?

Thanks, Justin

https://dg.box.net/shared/static/s3pjhjalji.pdf

This design is by Daniel Gentile, a very talented Swiss bladesmith, toolmaker, machinist, etc. I own a T-Rex. The T-Rex is similar to any venturi style burner (not sure venturi is quite the right word, but that's the common parlance), it's just better made and they did quite a bit of experimentation to optimize everything. As best I can tell this design is pretty much the same as my T-Rex. Of course Daniel uses metric measurements, so you'll have to convert everything. Sorry about that.

By the way, how's that NC Tool forge insulated?

*A friend of mine runs NC forges. He uses his 3 burner for making welds in. The knifemaker forge on NCtools page is a 3 burner and has damascus making listed as an attribute...