I Forge Iron

Howdy!

Howard Dean

Howdy everybody!
I just want to introduce myself as the newest member of this elite and non-glamourous group of blacksmiths. Of course, we're not glamorous except what we can produce off the anvil. I have been tinkering with blacksmithing for a few years now, though I consider myself an amateur. I am a welding and drafting instructor at a high school in west Tennessee. I have taken some blacksmithing classes at the National Ornamental Metal Museum for a professional development course so that I can teach my welding students the art of forging. Do you know it can be costly when all you have to heat your metal is an oxyacetylene rose-bud torch? Try it some time. I would love to set up a coal forge here at the school, but I wouldn't use it except for personal use. Ha! When I take my students to the NOMM in Memphis for a field trip it is usually the highlight of all field trips. The blacksmiths at the smithy's do a great job of demonstrating the art of metal work. These kids talk about it for months.