I Forge Iron

Hope to someday be accused of being a Blacksmith...

Hello to all.

A little about myself...  I'm Virginia born and raised.  Grew up in the foothills of the Blue Ridge.  As the son of a firefighter, I have always liked fire.  A lot.  Always been interested in blacksmithing.  Loved watching demonstrations at steam and gas shows, fairs, and re-enactments.  I'm a mechanic by trade.  Chainsaws and engines are my forte (Stihl Tech), but the only things I haven't worked on over the years are aircraft.  After 8 years turning wrenches I switched gears and did a stint in the Navy in a completely NOT mechanical field, which landed me in the Tidewater area.  Been back to turning wrenches again a few years now and found myself watching yet another blacksmithing demonstration at Chippokes Plantation put on by the Tidewater Blacksmith's Guild.  After talking to the fine gentlemen there (would give proper credit here but I'm terrible with names) I have decided to have a go at it.  They have a meeting once a month which my schedule has not yet allowed me to attend, but will be soon.