I Forge Iron

FAIRBANKS HAMMER

I AM A RELATIVLY NEW HAMMER USER-OWNER. THE HAMMER IS A 150 LB FAIRBANKS. I HAVE POSTED SEVERAL QUESTIONS OVER THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS AND THANK YOU ALL FOR THE HELP. IN THE LAST FEW DAYS MY HAMMER HAS SHOWN A SLOPPINESS (HOPE THAT IS UNDERSTANDABLE) AND TODAY SHOWED A SLOPPINESS IN THE SPRINGS THAT I AM UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT. THE SPRINGS BECAME LOOSE AND THE HAMMER IS VIBRATING AND I AM UNABLE TO HOLD A STEADY BEAT. SOMETIMES DOUBLE OR TRIPLE BEAT AND VERY IRRATIC. QUESTION?? HOW DO I ADJUST THE SPRINGS TO MAKE IT COME BACK TO A SINGLE ,, NON VIBRATING HIT?? THIS STARTED (OUT OF THE BLUE) AS I SAID I AM REALLY NEW TO POWER HAMMERS AND ADJUSTING THINGS HAS GOT ME A BIT CONFUSED/WORRIED THAT I WILL BREAK MY TOY. HOPE THERE IS HELP OUT THERE. FAIRBANKS MODEL EZ 11 CANADIAN MADE, ABOUT 1925 AS FAR AS MY RESEACH HAS FOUND. HELP. STEVE

I AM A RELATIVLY NEW HAMMER USER-OWNER. THE HAMMER IS A 150 LB FAIRBANKS. I HAVE POSTED SEVERAL QUESTIONS OVER THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS AND THANK YOU ALL FOR THE HELP. IN THE LAST FEW DAYS MY HAMMER HAS SHOWN A SLOPPINESS (HOPE THAT IS UNDERSTANDABLE) AND TODAY SHOWED A SLOPPINESS IN THE SPRINGS THAT I AM UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT. THE SPRINGS BECAME LOOSE AND THE HAMMER IS VIBRATING AND I AM UNABLE TO HOLD A STEADY BEAT. SOMETIMES DOUBLE OR TRIPLE BEAT AND VERY IRRATIC. QUESTION?? HOW DO I ADJUST THE SPRINGS TO MAKE IT COME BACK TO A SINGLE ,, NON VIBRATING HIT?? THIS STARTED (OUT OF THE BLUE) AS I SAID I AM REALLY NEW TO POWER HAMMERS AND ADJUSTING THINGS HAS GOT ME A BIT CONFUSED/WORRIED THAT I WILL BREAK MY TOY. HOPE THERE IS HELP OUT THERE. FAIRBANKS MODEL EZ 11 CANADIAN MADE, ABOUT 1925 AS FAR AS MY RESEACH HAS FOUND. HELP. STEVE