I Forge Iron

my first knife blank

newsmth

i built myself a temporary forge while i'm waiting on a more permanent one to be finished, and i started doing some work on it... today i attempted to shape a knife. i just hammered out a piece of scrap rebar i had laying around... hopefully some prettier things are soon to come!

post-11861-12627466296931_thumb.jpg

Ok, I'm no expert, I've only been doing this for a little while, but I advise you to take it slow. I know that when I first started making blades, I didn't have any hammer control, resulting in crescent-shaped hammer-marks on my blades that were too deep to grind out. Go carefully, make sure you don't beat the metal in anger because it's not changing shape fast enough. After that, I had to learn to keep my work straight. It's difficult at first, you have to constantly check so that the blade doesn't bend. Also keep in mind that you want the smoothest surface possible. You have a great shape on that blade, I'd advise you to try and polish it up a bit. I made some truly awful blades out of RR spikes at first, but when I polished them I learned an incredible amount about that process, so that when I did start to work on a real blade, I didn't marr it as badly. My nearly-finished belt knife (which I named "Lune", for whatever reason) isn't perfectly straight, and the blade has imperfections that were too deep to remove. But I learned so much from making it that I don't think I'll ever get rid of it.

I'd also advise you to be careful not to let scale build up on your anvil or your blade. You can remove it from the piece easily with a wirebrush. I've also heard that keeping your hammer and anvil wet while you work prevents it from building up badly. It looks like you had some scale built up on your anvil and it got driven into the finished piece. Be extra careful not to let that happen.