I Forge Iron

Anvil stands?

I have some 2" x 2" x 1/4" angle iron and I'm wanting to build a sturdy anvil stand for a new 112 lb. anvil I'm getting (I want to see Santa coming down the chimney with this sucker!).

I'm looking for tips, plans, etc. from experienced anvil users. I'm very new at this and all help is appreciated.

I have used both a wooden stump and an angle iron stand under my anvil. Both have advantages and disadvantages. For me the wood is a little softer to work on, where as the angle iron is a bit stiffer to work on.

When bugs and insects set up housekeeping in the stump, I switched to iron. I use a piece of wood sheeting between the anvil and the anvil box on the stand to cushion the anvil. A couple of wraps of loose chain to kill any ring.

BP1049 A Tour of My Shop Look at the 3 legged anvil stand.

I just got a 20-inch diameter chunk of oak from my father-in-law (and he gave me a craftsman chainsaw to hack at it with - gave it to me outright:D).
I cut it down to the right height plus on inch, trimmed out three feet on the bottom and drilled, chiseled then routed a pocket for my anvil to fit into.

Now I have a very solid, stable stand that smells good and alows me to move my anvil if needed. It also added many, many more pounds of stability to the anvil as well.

I have several shop pics but guess no anvil pic. The shop anvil here has set on angle iron stand for I guess 15 years. Just make a picture frame to set the anvil in ( leaving a smidge of clearance ). I assume you have a saw and a welder. 2x2x1/4 is fine ( mine may be 3/16).

The thing now is to get your proper height. See my post in "problem solving" about scale removal for my opinion about anvil height.