I Forge Iron

Welding Flux

I have access to literally tons of ground up Granite as fine as talcum powder. It would seem a shame to find that it's no good as a welding flux. I know the obvious way to test if its OK but I wonder what others reckon.

Strine:

Answer: I don't know. :lol:

HOWEVER... you will know fairly quickly by trying it. I'm not a rock scientist (just COULDN'T resist), but as I recall, granite is a family of material. A quick research on the web would tell you what's typically in it. For instance, here is one link with a breakdown of likely elements:

http://www.championtrees.org/topsoil/australia.htm

From the table in this article, it looks like SiO2 is the most prominent ingredient, which you would expect from a quartz family of rocks.

Sooo.... if the other elements don't hinder welding (and I don't see why they would), it seems to me that you would be using the equivalent of sand (with other gunk, though) ... which is a valid flux.

Put some on a piece of iron. Put it in the forge and bring it carefully to welding heat. With sunglasses or (better) #4 or #5 welding glasses, watch the surface. If the granite dust melts and coats the iron slightly before you reach midrange welding heat, you probably have a flux worth trying.

Please be careful handling that powdered stone. If you breathe the dust you are making youself a candidate for Silicosis which is a progressive and fatal disease. When you get it from coal dust it is called Black Lung Disease, from stone dust containing Silicone, it is Silicosis, results are the same. Wear a Respirator when using or working around this stuff. PLEASE!

Woody

Ed, I'll give it a go tomorrow and let you know. Don't lose any sleep over it :)

And yes Woody I have all the good oil on silicosis and rock dust. This dust is everywhere in the quarries I work in and they're forever telling us of the dangers.