I Forge Iron

hello from the Netherlands

Meep

Hello everyone my name is Ruurd 15 years old from the Fryslân province in the Netherlands. I'm just starting out blacksmithing (having watched blacksmiths videos for a while:) 

A question for my fellow blacksmiths from the Netherlands. do you know any good places to get gas forge materials like kaowool and refractory cement?

Hi and welcome, 

I can't post links due to forum rules, but try looking up smeedwinkel and 123smeden. also Angele forge in Germany might have some stuff for you. I would also consider a solid fuel forge with coal or charcoal. For me that is cheaper than a gas forge to operate, you'd have to find out how it works out for you. Good luck and if you have questions don't hesitate to ask.

~Jobtiel

Thank you swedefille and irondragon.

I have already tried forging with charcoal that i made at home (spent a whole afternoon tending a fire)But i didn't like that ut burnt so fast. I would be open to using coal but i can't realy find a way to get it here in the north. And the reason for a gas forge is that its pretty hands of and easily to light and portable because i dont have a shop for forging yet. I do have a shop for general fabrication like welding and a bit of woodwork but i'm not comfortable using it because its in a farm and i don't want ti burn it down:) i already have an anvil as you can see it weighs 190 kg without the heel. Does anyone know what the dent is maybe because of cold sharpening of blades?

20230316_190805.jpg

20230316_190912.jpg

Meep,

My guess would be side cutting  created that dent. Most of the anvils I encounter were used in farrier pursuits, and side cutting/ bending seem to be prevalent in their techniques. There are plenty of farrier knowledgeable folks on here that can comment on the use of anvil sides for shoeing.