I Forge Iron

Coal forge question

Momatt

Hello, I’ve been smithing for a few years now as a hobby.  I’ve always used a chili gas forge.  It’s been run hot now for a decade and stored outside. I’d like to switch to a coal forge as I live in the middle of nowhere now on 460 very rural acres. Smoke is no longer any concern and gas is a long way away.  I’d like the ability to heat more specific areas, and not worry about fitting something into the forge.  I successfully forge weld in my forge all the time but it never gets to sparkler heat and I’d like that extra heat level.

Ive been watching for an antique to pop up but now leaning to buy one from centaur forge or build one, probably with a fire pot from dave Custer.  How thick should the steel be surrounding the fire pot?  Is a hand crank blower a pain?  I’ve never used one.  Should I buy a new blower or pick up an antique.  Please share your thoughts and insights!

matt

I built my forge. The steel around the fire pot i used is 3/16". 

A hand crank blower takes a bit to get used to using. I used an old hair dryer till it gave up the ghost. One year around Christmas i jokingly told my daughter i wanted a hand crank that was locally being sold for $400 dollars. She did not get that one but did order one from that online store named after the giant river in S. America. I have been using it since spring and it works dandy. I think it was listed for around $150 or so. Also switching from the hair dryer to hand crank i drastically reduced my coal consumption. 

You can't beat a on line forge firepot setup. I've used them since '79. However, I just purchased a new one from someone who advertised here, but I don't remember his name. Both are ~ 10x14 and 4" or so deep. For me, a twyre and clinkerball are mandatory. 

I prefer cast, but have never used one made a fabbed one. The only difference may be how long they last.