I Forge Iron

Repairing an anvil

Good morning from Wichita KS.  I am new to iron work.  I am 65, retired military and have bought my first iron.  Love to learn so will be building a home shop "small" forge soon and will be needing help with that soon.

For now, bought an anvil (I assume a 70lb cause or the number 70 under the snout?) and need to know a little about how to repair some of the nicks on the edges.  Is there anyway to track history/origin of an anvil? I bought it at an auction of an old farmer in Hutchenson KS this past weekend.  

As stated earlier, I want to build a small forge for small "hobby" home projects and the anvil will be awesome.

Is there a place (link) to information I am seeking?

Thanks for input

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Ray

1669128575362293877511713959044.jpg

16691286679256438648721811937754.jpg

1 hour ago, Rgpracer said:

Good morning from Wichita KS

Howdy from eastern Oklahoma and welcome to the forum!

happy thanksgiving to you too!

I agree with Steve I wouldn’t bother with any repairs on that dude, it’s not really in the bad of shape, you can make a hardy for anything you need a sharp edge on,

As far as history goes, that looks like a Vulcan anvil to me, if so it’s American made cast iron base with a tool steel top, 

anvil history can be found in the book called (Anvils in America) by Richard Postman

Welcome aboard Ray, glad to have you. Telling us where you are once isn't going to stick an anybody's memory longer than opening the next post. If you'll put your general location in the header it'll be on every post  you make and you'll have a much better chance of meeting up with people living within visiting distance. Every hour spent with an experienced smith is worth as much as days trying to figure it out yourself. Lots of opportunities and answers are location specific.