I Forge Iron

Forge design, and clinkers

GojiraMay

Hello, I am relatively new to blacksmithing as I just made my first pair of tongs yesterday. I built my own forge and currently using a small exhaust fan jerry rigged together to provide air to the fire until I can source a more permanent air supply. I am using Anthracite coal in my forge as it is the only readily available coal in my area that I have found thus far, and I have heard that it is somewhat a dirty coal and can produce clinkers. When I was forging with it I had to frequently clean the fire out and I pulled out quite a few massive clinkers. Is this just because of the coal I am using or is anything I can change to help reduce the amount of clinkers are produced? Attached are some pictures of my forge and firepot design. any advice or tips is greatly appreciated!

IMG-5005.jpg

IMG-4989.jpg

IMG-5006.jpg

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

If you put your general location in your profile we will be able to give better answers.  A surprising number of answers are geography dependent.  Right now, we don't know if you are in Lapland or Tasmania.

Clinkers, no matter what grade of coal you are using, anything from peat to antrachite, are pretty much what they are because they are dependent on the impurities in the coal that do not combust.  If there was X amount of sand and silt washing into the coal swamp before it was buried and converted to coal you will have X amount of clinkers.  A very hot fire will reduce the clinkers to a glassy mass rather than a "crunchy" lump but that is about it.  About the only way to reduce clinkers is to find a coal that has a low amount of non-volatiles.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."