I Forge Iron

New Ribbon Burner do I have a problem?

WestCoastHunter

Newbie here.

I built a new forge with a ribbon burner burner is 8" x 4" with 20 each 5/16" holes fed by a 2" supply pipe. I read most guys run at 1 PSI Propane for forging and 5-7 for forge welding.

I cranked up the forge last night to see what pressure I could get, I never even registered 1 PSI when it started choking due to to much fuel. 

the gas supply is 1/4" pipe and the air fuel mixer is a 1/4" 90 elbow in the 2" supply pipe. I am wondering if I will never get those pressured due to the large orifice size of the gas supply or if my blower is not adequate.

I do not actually know what my temps are I guess I need to crank it up and see if it will forge weld? 

any thoughts? 

New forge.jpg

I wouldn't worry about pressure, the key is keeping a good flame profile in high and low fire.  As I've said in the past, while ribbon burners have many advantages, one key disadvantage is that you need to be careful in turning down the burner to a low fire condition after your forge has been running at high fire long enough to get very hot.

Note, I started with a blower that size for my forced air natural gas forge and switched to a larger one to get more BTU output.  Your forge shouldn't "choke" due to too much fuel, you should see a lot more dragons breath reduction flame at the forge doors where the gas fuel mix is hunting for more air to burn.  If your flame is not heavily reducing, but just lifting off the burner face, it is a function of the burner outlet port size as related to forge interior temperature (and consequent flame front speed).

I am far from an expert, but my first thoughts are that a blown forge and a naturally aspirated forge are very different. 
Wile a NA forge uses the flow of pressurized fuel to induce air flow the blower dose the work in a blown forge.