I Forge Iron

Reaming hole drill bit size?

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I appreciate your help LeeJustice, I could have done without the lowkey derogatory statement though. I also found these charts but I do not know how to use them. Please can you tell me the difference between nominal, 2% and 3%? I am still very new to the world of metal working. I have heard it is easy to go either too big or too small.

Hey Nodebt! Simply trying to get a rounder hole than my drill bits can achieve in a 3mm mild steel bar. From what I have read, the 11.8mm and 15/32 drill bits should be fine, but I have also learnt that there is a very small tolerance between choosing a too small and too large. I know one of those drill bits will technically be a better choice over the other, I just want to be sure because I have to buy them in batches of 5. A bernardo tb 14T.

I know he was Nodebt, it was just how he said it.

LeeJustice may have use a different search engine or different search words, which could have given him faster or more complete answers.  He was kind enough, and helpful enough, to include the URL to the ream drill size chart so you could access the information. I do not see where this is an implication (subtly or otherwise) that you did not look very hard.  There was no deprecatory statement, (expressing disapproval or criticism),  just a direct link to the chart.   

I see Glenn. I am Sorry LeeJustice if I misinterpreted what you wrote, I assumed when you wrote ''I found this quite quickly'', that you were implying it didn't take much effort to find the information, and therefore, implying I didn't look very hard. If I am wrong, it certainly wouldn't be the first time!

Sort of like going to the scrapyard; I go and I'm tripping over automotive coil springs; but when I send others there to get one, they can't find any!