I Forge Iron

Found this old broken anvil online not far from my place $150. I am a beginner with a railroad track anvil for the moment. Stick with the railroad track for now or get this one. Could probably get the price down a bit too. I dunno much about anvils, so tell me if it's worth it 

1362764541_Screenshot_20220423-203625_TradeMe.thumb.jpg.0b1a405e4017a897435a7bebebbf0385.jpg

Depends on a few things. Go see it and look for a brand. If it’s one of the better brand names and passes the rebound and ring test I’d say it’s probably worth $150. It still has the sweet spot over the waist and horn. If it passes the tests it’ll be a step up from the piece of track. Offer him $100. He might take it.

Assuming Bayard is talking about New Zealand dollars $NZ 150 = $US 100.  As others have said, if it passes the ring and rebound tests it is worth it.  I'd buy it for $US 100 in a minute.  BTW, rebound test is more important than ring.  Some brands of anvil have a sharp ring and others, which are as good, do not.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

Can't tell much from the picture; why most folks are advising the simple go/no-go tests.  How thick is the faceplate? Any markings on it?

You will sure love it compared to a RR rail; I have one, a Powell,  missing the heel and it was great to work on and seriously cheaper than going rate for a complete anvil when I bought it---over 100# and cost me US$40; it's now my loaner anvil and is on loan to the Fine Arts Metals Instructor at the local Uni.