I Forge Iron

Anvil purchase and repair.

Hi Guys, 

New to the forum but have seen a lot of great advice on here in regards to anvil identification and appraisal as to quality. Im a novice smith (hardly can call myself that really) and its really showing as i want to buy my first anvil (see attached... im hoping to get more photos and i am goingto see it in person soon). Up until this point i have been using just a peice of rail and i think its time to uprgade as it is chipped and rutted as anything else. If it is allowed I would like to put a few questions out there. 

1. Would anyone be able to identify the anvil? It has T7 marked on it any other identifying features are missing or rusted out. It has an approximate weight of 150 - 200kg (300 - 400#). 

2. The heel of the anvil is chipped as you can kind of glean from the image... the seller think that it was previsouly repaired but had broken out as there is evidence of weld. The horn, cutting face and working face are all very worn it has definitely seen some use but in my inexperieced opinion needs some love. Is there any rule of thumb to determine whether the working face is it too beaten up and needs repairing or from the looks of it does it seeem workable as is? 

3. im definitely going to have to repair the heel and have been recommended something similar to the Gunther Method (heat up and fill with good welding rod and grind back). Is this the route that you all would recommend? 

3. how much would you all be willing to pay for such an anvil in this condition and this size?

As far as im concerned the seller is asking a more than fair price for an anvil that that im reasonably happy to pay. The thing i want to avoid at this point is buying something that doesnt suit my purposes or is going to take more money than expected to fix up or maintain in the long run. I will be hopefully getting more picture and measurements soon... Thanks in advance!