I Forge Iron

I'm a lightweight hobbyist who has mainly burned coal in the past.  I'm now getting a chance to do more serious work, and wound up with a lift of coke that I've just started working with.

This week I decided it was time to get in some forge welding practice, and I'm impressed by the heat I'm getting (except for the sunburn...I've moved my anvil further from the fire now). I've been setting flux-less faggot welds in it - my welding is still xxxx-poor, so this was unexpected.  But the fire often feels really mushy - I'm pulling clinker out at an astounding rate, much more than I ever noticed with coal.

So questions:

1. Is it this particular coke making so much clinker?
  2. It it because in the coal I have a nice little cave and I don't disturb the fire as much when welding?
  3. It it because I'm not managing my coke properly when I stuff my bars in it?

Thanks!

Clinker is the stuff in the fuel that does not burn, dirt, debris, etc.  They may have scooped up the bottom of the pile and dirt when they loaded  the coke.

Coke likes a gentle air.  Fuel does not make the fire hot, air makes the fire hot.    The metal goes in 1/2 to 2/3 of the way up the fireball. You may want a deeper fire. 

One fuel does not behave like any other fuel so you need to learn to use the fuel at hand.  One batch of fuel does not behave like the next batch some times.  It is a learning process.

I need more info. You were burning coal. What kind? Simply said there is blacksmithing coal and anthracite. If you were burning blacksmith coal, it turns to coke and you should have had no coal around your work. If you did, then your fire control needs work. If not then its a pretty simple change to pure coke. If You were burning Anth, then you are in a new world.