I Forge Iron

Forge on wheels

Hello folks! I am new to this forum and decided to make my post here rather than the "Introduce Yourself" subforum. It's straight to business.

I wanted to post here mainly to ask about three things, but also receive any critiques any of you experienced folks may conjure up.

1) Tuyere diameter/length. I have a 2' length of steel pipe with a diameter of 1.5". Is this too large for a charcoal-fed JABOD forge? Also, is this length long enough to dissipate the heat before reaching the fan? (I plan on using an old air mattress inflation fan)

2) The fire pit configuration--I have 6 bricks with dimensions of 9"x5"x2.5". In the configuration pictured in my link below, this leaves about a 4.5" wide pit. Will this be wide enough? I plan on using this forge for small pieces since I am just learning--hooks, tongs eventually, etc.

3) Forge height. Currently. the top of the box sits at about 31", putting it around navel level. It is set on a stainless steel cart with wheels, so adjusting the height would be easy enough. What is the standard for forge height? Would it be better to be higher up, maybe at chest-ish level? In the beginning I may just leave it as it is, and adjust based on any feedback my back may give me the next day...

For fuel I plan on using charcoal filtered from the leftover ash in our wood stove. I made a strainer using some 1/4 inch (I think) chicken wire over a wood frame, and have been collecting a surprising amount of nut-to-egg-sized charcoal! Hopefully this will be good enough, and when the summer rolls around I will have to re-think my fuel situation.

Anyway, appreciate all of you who have taken time to read this, and I look forward to hearing any feedback anyone might have!

p.jpeg

Experience and the historical record show a 3/4-1” ID tuyere work best with charcoal. If you can drill a 1” hole in a brick it will work with the larger pipe