I Forge Iron

Help to identify

Hello, some time ago I got this anvil, a super cheap price, it weighs around 100 pounds, looking for I do not see any marks, I only see that it has 4 hardie holes, one of them is on the bottom I would like if someone can give me an idea of how old It is, apart from that it has a very good rebound, the person who had it before me cleaned it with a polishing machine had it for decoration, thanks in advance I hope you can help me

Screenshot_20210920-114343_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210920-114400_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210920-114417_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20210920-114431_Gallery.jpg

Hello and welcome to the forum,

Those holes on the side an bottom are handling holes, the one on top is a hardy hole, 

judging by the base an lack of pritchel hole I’d say it kinda looks like a colonial pattern but I’m not an expert, I’m sure Thomas will be along soon, he can give you more information

have you read the read this first thread? It can help answer questions an help you navigate through the forum 

Yes i have a forge,making knife,thong,chizel exct,the anvil have good rebound 

1 hour ago, ThomasPowers said:

Like the ones they learned the craft making.  

You thinks is a 200 year anvil?? Thats is great only paid $90

Edited by Mod30
Excessive quoting

Here in my country blacksmiths do not exist what little I have learned from reading and videos, I am a beginner

1 hour ago, TWISTEDWILLOW said:

Do you have any pictures of the stuff you have made? 

20201207_170913.jpg

20201224_131623.jpg

20201226_124120.jpg

20201226_131240.jpg

Edited by Mod30
Excessive quoting

I learned on my own---preinternet too,  Alexander Weygers "The Modern Blacksmith" was what I got started with. It's back in print combined with his other two books and called "The Complete Modern Blacksmith" He goes into detail on how to smith where you have to make your own equipment from scratch.  I highly recommend it to you.