I Forge Iron

Another new guy

JMSZ

JMSZ, out in California, east of the Sierras, not the crazy parts.  I have been interested in blacksmithing for a long time, but more for around the house and yard type of thing.  I just like doing and making my own things, partly because I get what I can get what I want and partly just because of the satisfaction of having done it myself.

I'm mainly self-taught in pretty much everything but I don't pass up an opportunity to learn from somebody who knows what they're doing, so I'll be doing a lot of reading here over the coming weeks.

I was finally able to pick up a pair of anvils, a 152lb Trenton and I don't know what the other one is, but I'll post pictures.  The Trenton seems to be in good shape and based on some of the posts on here, dates from somewhere around 1900.  It has a good ring to it and when I was cleaning the face with a wire brush, it was even ringing then.  The other (smaller) one doesn't ring at all, it almost sounds like hitting concrete.  It has an obvious weld around the waist and there are multiple small voids in the metal, so I'm guessing it's probably not the highest quality, but if it works, it works.

I still need tools, including the tools that mount on the anvils, and a forge. 

I'm leaning towards a charcoal forge as my primary heat source, I keep hardwood charcoal around for cooking already, so I can just stock more, and I'd like something that I can get a hold of if propane is in short supply (or gone).

I'll post back again soon and look forward to learning from here and maybe running into somebody from my area.  I'll get my profile info updated shortly.

Howdy from eastern Oklahoma and welcome to the forum! 
sound late like you’ll be better off using the Trenton anvil, 

forges are easy to build, and those tools your hunting for that mount on the anvil are called hardy tools, personally ive made mine from free sucker rod ends leftover from pipe fence projects,